FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes, you most certainly can. Our depot is located at 465-467 Somerville Rd, Brooklyn. The sales office is open 7.30am to 5.00pm and we are open Saturday mornings. Alternatively we can email or message you photographs
Used containers are generally released from shipping lines for resale after they have been written down on their books for about ten years. So a container straight out of shipping will likely be at least ten years old. Expect a few exterior dints and/or patches (they have been around the world a few times don’t forget). We also offer refurbished containers which have had the interior floor sanded and painted.
Every container is checked in our workshop prior to release. The door gaskets and locking mechanisms are inspected to ensure they are all in good working order.
Most floors are marine timber ply but there are also some with steel floors.
The most common are blue or brown however we do offer a repainting service in which your container can be custom painted to a colour of your choice.
We keep 10ft, 20ft and 40ft General Purpose and High Cube containers in stock. Refer to our sales page for more information.

10Ft Container Dimensions

10FT STANDARD
ExternalLength3.05m (10”)
Width2.44m (8”)
Height2.59m (8’6”)
InternalLength2.80m (9’2”)
Width2.33m (7’8”)
Height2.35 (7’9”)
10FT HIGH CUBE (additional 1 ft in height)
ExternalLength3.05m (10”)
Width2.44m (8”)
Height2.89m (9’6”)
InternalLength2.80m (9’2”)
Width2.33m (7’8”)
Height2.65m (8’9”)

**This chart is a guide only. As the containers are manufactured they may vary by a few millimetres.
Please note 10ft containers created using the cut down process are not suitable for international shipping use.

20Ft Container Dimensions

20FT STANDARD
ExternalLength6.06m (20’)
Width2.44m (8)
Height2.59m (8’6”)
InternalLength5.87m (19’3”)
Width2.33m (7’8”)
Height2.35m (7’9”)
20FT HIGH CUBE
ExternalLength6.06m (20’)
Width2.44m (8’)
Height2.89m (9’6”)
InternalLength5.87m (19’3”)
Width2.33m (7’8”)
Height2.65m (8’9”)

40Ft Container Dimensions

40FT STANDARD
ExternalLength12.19m (40’)
Width2.44m (8)
Height2.59m (8’6”)
InternalLength12.00m (39’5”)
Width  2.33m (7’8”)
Height  2.35m (7’9”)
40FT HIGH CUBE
ExternalLength12.19m (40’)
Width2.44m (8’)
Height2.89m (9’6”)
InternalLength12.00m (39’5”)
Width 2.33m (7’8”)
Height 2.65m (8’9”)
The difference is the height of exactly one foot, giving it extra storage capacity.
Payment is required prior to delivery. We accept payments via direct deposit (EFT), Cheque, Cash, Bankcard, Mastercard, Visa and American Express cards.
Yes we do, however bear in mind when we quote a buy-back price that we have to consider transport costs and the amount of time the container will be in storage with us before we can resell it.
We can arrange same day delivery to most Melbourne suburbs. Delivery time depends on available transport, the required container and quantity and if any accessories or modifications are required.
Delivery is usually booked at the time of your order.
Yes, we deliver all over Victoria. Some of our transport partners are based in Geelong and Ballarat and we deliver on a daily basis.
When placing your order we will discuss which type of truck will be best suited for your needs. Most commonly we’ll use tilt tray and side loaders. A tilt tray truck reverses to the delivery point and the tray will tilt to the ground with the container sliding off the back A side loader lifts the container off the driver’s side and place 1 metre beside the trucks trailer.
Yes absolutely you can, but you need to make a Containerchain booking. Also for safety reasons all transport vehicles must have twist lock mechanisms as we do not allow operators to climb on top of the container.
Its best to ensure that your container is on a level surface as uneven ground may impede on the operation of the doors. The container can sit directly on the ground with only the four corners being in contact with the surface. Generally no surface preparation is required however elevation is recommended to prolong the life of the timber floor by creating air flow underneath the container. Many of our customers choose to place sleepers, timber or bricks under each corner end.
Yes, they can! Just ask one our friendly staff team members and have your plans ready.
Prices will depend on what your specific requirements are so it’s best to contact our sales team for a definite quote.

In Victoria, storage sheds do not require a permit or approval if they meet the following guidelines.
• Have a floor area of no greater than 10m²
• 3m or less in height, or, if situated within 1m of a boundary, is no more than 2.4m in height located no further forward than the front wall of the single dwelling

Although its always best to check with your local Council, a 10ft shipping container thereby should not require a permit if it meets these guidelines. Other sizes clearly fall outside this rule, and as each Council has different regulations, we recommend you contact them first.

CouncilWebsiteEmail
Alpine Shire Councilhttp://www.ararat.vic.gov.au/index/homecouncil@ararat.vic.gov.au
Ararat Rural City Councilhttp://www.ararat.vic.gov.au/index/homecouncil@ararat.vic.gov.au
Ballarat City Councilhttp://www.ballarat.vic.gov.au/ballcity@ballarat.vic.gov.au
Banyule City Councilhttp://www.banyule.vic.gov.au/Homeenquiries@banyule.vic.gov.au
Bass Coast Shire Councilhttp://www.basscoast.vic.gov.au/Homebasscoast@basscoast.vic.gov.au
Baw Baw Shire Councilhttp://www.bawbawshire.vic.gov.au/Homebawbaw@bawbawshire.vic.gov.au
Bayside City Councilhttp://www.bayside.vic.gov.au/index.htmenquiries@bayside.vic.gov.au
Benalla Rural City Councilhttp://www.benalla.vic.gov.au/council@benalla.vic.gov.au
Boroondara City Councilhttp://www.boroondara.vic.gov.au/boroondara@boroondara.vic.gov.au
Brimbank City Councilhttp://www.brimbank.vic.gov.au/Homepage_Linksinfo@brimbank.vic.gov.au
Buloke Shire Councilhttp://www.buloke.vic.gov.au/buloke@buloke.vic.gov.au
Campaspe Shire Councilhttp://www.campaspe.vic.gov.au/shire@campaspe.vic.gov.au
Cardinia Shire Councilhttp://www.cardinia.vic.gov.au/page/HomePage.aspxmail@cardinia.vic.gov.au
Casey City Councilhttp://www.casey.vic.gov.au/Homecaseycc@casey.vic.gov.au
Central Goldfields Shire Councilhttp://www.centralgoldfields.com.au/mail@cgoldshire.vic.gov.au
Colac Otway Shire Councilhttp://www.colacotway.vic.gov.au/inq@colacotway.vic.gov.au
Corangamite Shire Councilhttp://www.corangamite.vic.gov.au/shire@corangamite.vic.gov.au
Darebin City Councilhttp://www.darebin.vic.gov.au/page/HomePage.aspxmailbox@darebin.vic.gov.au
East Gippsland Shire Councilhttp://www.eastgippsland.vic.gov.au/Homefeedback@egipps.vic.gov.au
Frankston City Councilhttp://www.frankston.vic.gov.au/Homecorrespondence@frankston.vic.gov.au
Gannawarra Shire Councilhttp://www.gannawarra.vic.gov.au/council@gannawarra.vic.gov.au
Glen Eira City Councilhttp://www.gleneira.vic.gov.au/Homemail@gleneira.vic.gov.au
Glenelg Shire Councilhttp://www.glenelg.vic.gov.au/page/HomePage.aspxenquiry@glenelg.vic.gov.au
Golden Plains Shire Councilhttp://www.goldenplains.vic.gov.au/page.aspxenquiries@gplains.vic.gov.au
Greater Bendigo City Councilhttps://www.bendigo.vic.gov.au/Homerequest@bendigo.vic.gov.au
Greater Dandenong City Councilhttp://www.greaterdandenong.com/council@cgd.vic.gov.au
Greater Geelong City Councilhttp://www.geelongaustralia.com.au/contactus@geelongcity.vic.gov.au
Greater Shepparton City Councilhttp://www.greatershepparton.com.au/council@shepparton.vic.gov.au
Hepburn Shire Councilhttp://www.hepburn.vic.gov.au/shire@hepburn.vic.gov.au
Hindmarsh Shire Councilhttp://www.hindmarsh.vic.gov.au/info@hindmarsh.vic.gov.au
Hobsons Bay City Councilhttp://www.hobsonsbay.vic.gov.au/Homecustomerservice@hobsonsbay.vic.gov.au
Horsham Rural City Councilhttp://www.hrcc.vic.gov.au/council@hrcc.vic.gov.au
Hume City Councilhttp://www.hume.vic.gov.au/Homepagecontactus@hume.vic.gov.au
Indigo Shire Councilhttp://www.indigoshire.vic.gov.au/Homeindigoshire@indigoshire.vic.gov.au
Kingston City Councilhttp://www.kingston.vic.gov.au/Homeinfo@kingston.vic.gov.au
Knox City Councilhttp://www.knox.vic.gov.au/page/HomePage.aspxknoxcc@knox.vic.gov.au
Latrobe City Councilhttp://www.latrobe.vic.gov.au/Homelatrobe@latrobe.vic.gov.au
Loddon Shire Councilhttp://www.loddon.vic.gov.au/Homeloddon@loddon.vic.gov.au
Macedon Ranges Shire Councilhttp://www.mrsc.vic.gov.au/Homemrsc@mrsc.vic.gov.au
Manningham City Councilhttp://www.manningham.vic.gov.au/manningham@manningham.vic.gov.au
Mansfield Shire Councilhttp://www.mansfield.vic.gov.au/home.aspxcouncil@mansfield.vic.gov.au
Maribyrnong City Councilhttp://www.maribyrnong.vic.gov.au/page/HomePage.aspxemail@maribyrnong.vic.gov.au
Maroondah City Councilhttp://www.maroondah.vic.gov.au/default.aspxmaroondah@maroondah.vic.gov.au
Melbourne City Councilhttp://www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/Pages/default.aspxadmin@melbourne.vic.gov.au
Melton City Councilhttp://www.melton.vic.gov.au/Homecsu@melton.vic.gov.au
Mildura Rural City Councilhttp://www.mildura.vic.gov.au/Homemrcc@mildura.vic.gov.au
Mitchell Shire Councilhttp://www.mitchellshire.vic.gov.au/mitchell@mitchellshire.vic.gov.au
Moira Shire Councilhttp://www.moira.vic.gov.au/Homewebmaster@moira.vic.gov.au
Monash City Councilhttp://www.monash.vic.gov.au/Homemail@monash.vic.gov.au
Moonee Valley City Councilhttp://www.mvcc.vic.gov.au/council@mvcc.vic.gov.au
Moorabool Shire Councilhttp://www.moorabool.vic.gov.au/info@moorabool.vic.gov.au
Moreland City Councilhttp://www.moreland.vic.gov.au/info@moreland.vic.gov.au
Mornington Peninsula Shire Councilhttp://www.mornpen.vic.gov.au/Homecustomerservice@mornpen.vic.gov.au
Mount Alexander Shire Councilhttps://www.mountalexander.vic.gov.au/page/HomePage.aspxinfo@mountalexander.vic.gov.au
Moyne Shire Councilhttp://www.moyne.vic.gov.au/Homemoyne@moyne.vic.gov.au
Murrindindi Shire Councilhttp://www.murrindindi.vic.gov.au/Homemsc@murrindindi.vic.gov.au
Nillumbik Shire Councilhttp://www.nillumbik.vic.gov.au/Homenillumbik@nillumbik.vic.gov.au
Northern Grampians Shire Councilhttp://www.ngshire.vic.gov.au/Homengshire@ngshire.vic.gov.au
Port Phillip City Councilhttp://www.portphillip.vic.gov.au/index.htmassist@portphillip.vic.gov.au
Pyrenees Shire Councilhttp://www.pyrenees.vic.gov.au/Homepyrenees@pyrenees.vic.gov.au
Queenscliffe Borough Councilhttp://www.queenscliffe.vic.gov.au/info@queenscliffe.vic.gov.au
South Gippsland Shire Councilhttp://www.southgippsland.vic.gov.au/council@southgippsland.vic.gov.au
Southern Grampians Shire Councilhttp://www.sthgrampians.vic.gov.au/council@sthgrampians.vic.gov.au
Stonnington City Councilhttp://www.stonnington.vic.gov.au/council@stonnington.vic.gov.au
Strathbogie Shire Councilhttp://www.strathbogie.vic.gov.au/info@strathbogie.vic.gov.au
Surf Coast Shire Councilhttp://www.surfcoast.vic.gov.au/Homeinfo@surfcoast.vic.gov.au
Swan Hill Rural City Councilhttp://www.swanhill.vic.gov.au/council@swanhill.vic.gov.au
Towong Shire Councilhttp://www.towong.vic.gov.au/info@towong.vic.gov.au
Wangaratta Rural City Councilhttp://www.wangaratta.vic.gov.au/council@wangaratta.vic.gov.au
Warrnambool City Councilhttp://www.warrnambool.vic.gov.au/wbool_city@warrnambool.vic.gov.au
Wellington Shire Councilhttp://www.wellington.vic.gov.au/Homeenquiries@wellington.vic.gov.au
West Wimmera Shire Councilhttp://www.westwimmera.vic.gov.au/council@westwimmera.vic.gov.au
Whitehorse City Councilhttp://www.whitehorse.vic.gov.au/customer.service@whitehorse.vic.gov.au
Whittlesea City Councilhttps://www.whittlesea.vic.gov.au/info@whittlesea.vic.gov.au
Wodonga City Councilhttp://www.wodonga.vic.gov.au/info@wodonga.vic.gov.au
Wyndham City Councilhttp://www.wyndham.vic.gov.au/mail@wyndham.vic.gov.au
Yarra City Councilhttp://www.yarracity.vic.gov.au/Info@yarracity.vic.gov.au
Yarra Ranges Shire Council