FAQ 2018-05-21T11:55:50+00:00

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes, you most certainly can. Our depot is located at 465-467 Somerville Rd, Brooklyn. The sales office is open 7.30am to 5.00pm and we are open Saturday mornings. Alternatively we can email or message you photographs
Used containers are generally released from shipping lines for resale after they have been written down on their books for about ten years. So a container straight out of shipping will likely be at least ten years old. Expect a few exterior dints and/or patches (they have been around the world a few times don’t forget). We also offer refurbished containers which have had the interior floor sanded and painted.
Every container is checked in our workshop prior to release. The door gaskets and locking mechanisms are inspected to ensure they are all in good working order.
Most floors are marine timber ply but there are also some with steel floors.
The most common are blue or brown however we do offer a repainting service in which your container can be custom painted to a colour of your choice.
We keep 10ft, 20ft and 40ft General Purpose and High Cube containers in stock. Refer to our sales page for more information.

10Ft Container Dimensions

10FT STANDARD
External Length 3.05m (10”)
Width 2.44m (8”)
Height 2.59m (8’6”)
Internal Length 2.80m (9’2”)
Width 2.33m (7’8”)
Height 2.35 (7’9”)
10FT HIGH CUBE (additional 1 ft in height)
External Length 3.05m (10”)
Width 2.44m (8”)
Height 2.89m (9’6”)
Internal Length 2.80m (9’2”)
Width 2.33m (7’8”)
Height 2.65m (8’9”)

**This chart is a guide only. As the containers are manufactured they may vary by a few millimetres.
Please note 10ft containers created using the cut down process are not suitable for international shipping use.

20Ft Container Dimensions

20FT STANDARD
External Length 6.06m (20’)
Width 2.44m (8)
Height 2.59m (8’6”)
Internal Length 5.87m (19’3”)
Width 2.33m (7’8”)
Height 2.35m (7’9”)
20FT HIGH CUBE
External Length 6.06m (20’)
Width 2.44m (8’)
Height 2.89m (9’6”)
Internal Length 5.87m (19’3”)
Width 2.33m (7’8”)
Height 2.65m (8’9”)

40Ft Container Dimensions

40FT STANDARD
External Length 12.19m (40’)
Width 2.44m (8)
Height 2.59m (8’6”)
Internal Length 12.00m (39’5”)
Width   2.33m (7’8”)
Height   2.35m (7’9”)
40FT HIGH CUBE
External Length 12.19m (40’)
Width 2.44m (8’)
Height 2.89m (9’6”)
Internal Length 12.00m (39’5”)
Width  2.33m (7’8”)
Height  2.65m (8’9”)
The difference is the height of exactly one foot, giving it extra storage capacity.
Payment is required prior to delivery. We accept payments via direct deposit (EFT), Cheque, Cash, Bankcard, Mastercard, Visa and American Express cards.
Yes we do, however bear in mind when we quote a buy-back price that we have to consider transport costs and the amount of time the container will be in storage with us before we can resell it.
We can arrange same day delivery to most Melbourne suburbs. Delivery time depends on available transport, the required container and quantity and if any accessories or modifications are required.
Delivery is usually booked at the time of your order.
Yes, we deliver all over Victoria. Some of our transport partners are based in Geelong and Ballarat and we deliver on a daily basis.
When placing your order we will discuss which type of truck will be best suited for your needs. Most commonly we’ll use tilt tray and side loaders. A tilt tray truck reverses to the delivery point and the tray will tilt to the ground with the container sliding off the back A side loader lifts the container off the driver’s side and place 1 metre beside the trucks trailer.
Yes absolutely you can, but you need to make a Containerchain booking. Also for safety reasons all transport vehicles must have twist lock mechanisms as we do not allow operators to climb on top of the container.
Its best to ensure that your container is on a level surface as uneven ground may impede on the operation of the doors. The container can sit directly on the ground with only the four corners being in contact with the surface. Generally no surface preparation is required however elevation is recommended to prolong the life of the timber floor by creating air flow underneath the container. Many of our customers choose to place sleepers, timber or bricks under each corner end.
Yes, they can! Just ask one our friendly staff team members and have your plans ready.
Prices will depend on what your specific requirements are so it’s best to contact our sales team for a definite quote.

In Victoria, storage sheds do not require a permit or approval if they meet the following guidelines.
• Have a floor area of no greater than 10m²
• 3m or less in height, or, if situated within 1m of a boundary, is no more than 2.4m in height located no further forward than the front wall of the single dwelling

A 10ft shipping container thereby does not require a permit. For other sizes we suggest you contact your local Council and check their individual requirements as each one is different.

Council Website Email
Alpine Shire Council http://www.ararat.vic.gov.au/index/home council@ararat.vic.gov.au
Ararat Rural City Council http://www.ararat.vic.gov.au/index/home council@ararat.vic.gov.au
Ballarat City Council http://www.ballarat.vic.gov.au/ ballcity@ballarat.vic.gov.au
Banyule City Council http://www.banyule.vic.gov.au/Home enquiries@banyule.vic.gov.au
Bass Coast Shire Council http://www.basscoast.vic.gov.au/Home basscoast@basscoast.vic.gov.au
Baw Baw Shire Council http://www.bawbawshire.vic.gov.au/Home bawbaw@bawbawshire.vic.gov.au
Bayside City Council http://www.bayside.vic.gov.au/index.htm enquiries@bayside.vic.gov.au
Benalla Rural City Council http://www.benalla.vic.gov.au/ council@benalla.vic.gov.au
Boroondara City Council http://www.boroondara.vic.gov.au/ boroondara@boroondara.vic.gov.au
Brimbank City Council http://www.brimbank.vic.gov.au/Homepage_Links info@brimbank.vic.gov.au
Buloke Shire Council http://www.buloke.vic.gov.au/ buloke@buloke.vic.gov.au
Campaspe Shire Council http://www.campaspe.vic.gov.au/ shire@campaspe.vic.gov.au
Cardinia Shire Council http://www.cardinia.vic.gov.au/page/HomePage.aspx mail@cardinia.vic.gov.au
Casey City Council http://www.casey.vic.gov.au/Home caseycc@casey.vic.gov.au
Central Goldfields Shire Council http://www.centralgoldfields.com.au/ mail@cgoldshire.vic.gov.au
Colac Otway Shire Council http://www.colacotway.vic.gov.au/ inq@colacotway.vic.gov.au
Corangamite Shire Council http://www.corangamite.vic.gov.au/ shire@corangamite.vic.gov.au
Darebin City Council http://www.darebin.vic.gov.au/page/HomePage.aspx mailbox@darebin.vic.gov.au
East Gippsland Shire Council http://www.eastgippsland.vic.gov.au/Home feedback@egipps.vic.gov.au
Frankston City Council http://www.frankston.vic.gov.au/Home correspondence@frankston.vic.gov.au
Gannawarra Shire Council http://www.gannawarra.vic.gov.au/ council@gannawarra.vic.gov.au
Glen Eira City Council http://www.gleneira.vic.gov.au/Home mail@gleneira.vic.gov.au
Glenelg Shire Council http://www.glenelg.vic.gov.au/page/HomePage.aspx enquiry@glenelg.vic.gov.au
Golden Plains Shire Council http://www.goldenplains.vic.gov.au/page.aspx enquiries@gplains.vic.gov.au
Greater Bendigo City Council https://www.bendigo.vic.gov.au/Home request@bendigo.vic.gov.au
Greater Dandenong City Council http://www.greaterdandenong.com/ council@cgd.vic.gov.au
Greater Geelong City Council http://www.geelongaustralia.com.au/ contactus@geelongcity.vic.gov.au
Greater Shepparton City Council http://www.greatershepparton.com.au/ council@shepparton.vic.gov.au
Hepburn Shire Council http://www.hepburn.vic.gov.au/ shire@hepburn.vic.gov.au
Hindmarsh Shire Council http://www.hindmarsh.vic.gov.au/ info@hindmarsh.vic.gov.au
Hobsons Bay City Council http://www.hobsonsbay.vic.gov.au/Home customerservice@hobsonsbay.vic.gov.au
Horsham Rural City Council http://www.hrcc.vic.gov.au/ council@hrcc.vic.gov.au
Hume City Council http://www.hume.vic.gov.au/Homepage contactus@hume.vic.gov.au
Indigo Shire Council http://www.indigoshire.vic.gov.au/Home indigoshire@indigoshire.vic.gov.au
Kingston City Council http://www.kingston.vic.gov.au/Home info@kingston.vic.gov.au
Knox City Council http://www.knox.vic.gov.au/page/HomePage.aspx knoxcc@knox.vic.gov.au
Latrobe City Council http://www.latrobe.vic.gov.au/Home latrobe@latrobe.vic.gov.au
Loddon Shire Council http://www.loddon.vic.gov.au/Home loddon@loddon.vic.gov.au
Macedon Ranges Shire Council http://www.mrsc.vic.gov.au/Home mrsc@mrsc.vic.gov.au
Manningham City Council http://www.manningham.vic.gov.au/ manningham@manningham.vic.gov.au
Mansfield Shire Council http://www.mansfield.vic.gov.au/home.aspx council@mansfield.vic.gov.au
Maribyrnong City Council http://www.maribyrnong.vic.gov.au/page/HomePage.aspx email@maribyrnong.vic.gov.au
Maroondah City Council http://www.maroondah.vic.gov.au/default.aspx maroondah@maroondah.vic.gov.au
Melbourne City Council http://www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/Pages/default.aspx admin@melbourne.vic.gov.au
Melton City Council http://www.melton.vic.gov.au/Home csu@melton.vic.gov.au
Mildura Rural City Council http://www.mildura.vic.gov.au/Home mrcc@mildura.vic.gov.au
Mitchell Shire Council http://www.mitchellshire.vic.gov.au/ mitchell@mitchellshire.vic.gov.au
Moira Shire Council http://www.moira.vic.gov.au/Home webmaster@moira.vic.gov.au
Monash City Council http://www.monash.vic.gov.au/Home mail@monash.vic.gov.au
Moonee Valley City Council http://www.mvcc.vic.gov.au/ council@mvcc.vic.gov.au
Moorabool Shire Council http://www.moorabool.vic.gov.au/ info@moorabool.vic.gov.au
Moreland City Council http://www.moreland.vic.gov.au/ info@moreland.vic.gov.au
Mornington Peninsula Shire Council http://www.mornpen.vic.gov.au/Home customerservice@mornpen.vic.gov.au
Mount Alexander Shire Council https://www.mountalexander.vic.gov.au/page/HomePage.aspx info@mountalexander.vic.gov.au
Moyne Shire Council http://www.moyne.vic.gov.au/Home moyne@moyne.vic.gov.au
Murrindindi Shire Council http://www.murrindindi.vic.gov.au/Home msc@murrindindi.vic.gov.au
Nillumbik Shire Council http://www.nillumbik.vic.gov.au/Home nillumbik@nillumbik.vic.gov.au
Northern Grampians Shire Council http://www.ngshire.vic.gov.au/Home ngshire@ngshire.vic.gov.au
Port Phillip City Council http://www.portphillip.vic.gov.au/index.htm assist@portphillip.vic.gov.au
Pyrenees Shire Council http://www.pyrenees.vic.gov.au/Home pyrenees@pyrenees.vic.gov.au
Queenscliffe Borough Council http://www.queenscliffe.vic.gov.au/ info@queenscliffe.vic.gov.au
South Gippsland Shire Council http://www.southgippsland.vic.gov.au/ council@southgippsland.vic.gov.au
Southern Grampians Shire Council http://www.sthgrampians.vic.gov.au/ council@sthgrampians.vic.gov.au
Stonnington City Council http://www.stonnington.vic.gov.au/ council@stonnington.vic.gov.au
Strathbogie Shire Council http://www.strathbogie.vic.gov.au/ info@strathbogie.vic.gov.au
Surf Coast Shire Council http://www.surfcoast.vic.gov.au/Home info@surfcoast.vic.gov.au
Swan Hill Rural City Council http://www.swanhill.vic.gov.au/ council@swanhill.vic.gov.au
Towong Shire Council http://www.towong.vic.gov.au/ info@towong.vic.gov.au
Wangaratta Rural City Council http://www.wangaratta.vic.gov.au/ council@wangaratta.vic.gov.au
Warrnambool City Council http://www.warrnambool.vic.gov.au/ wbool_city@warrnambool.vic.gov.au
Wellington Shire Council http://www.wellington.vic.gov.au/Home enquiries@wellington.vic.gov.au
West Wimmera Shire Council http://www.westwimmera.vic.gov.au/ council@westwimmera.vic.gov.au
Whitehorse City Council http://www.whitehorse.vic.gov.au/ customer.service@whitehorse.vic.gov.au
Whittlesea City Council https://www.whittlesea.vic.gov.au/ info@whittlesea.vic.gov.au
Wodonga City Council http://www.wodonga.vic.gov.au/ info@wodonga.vic.gov.au
Wyndham City Council http://www.wyndham.vic.gov.au/ mail@wyndham.vic.gov.au
Yarra City Council http://www.yarracity.vic.gov.au/ Info@yarracity.vic.gov.au
Yarra Ranges Shire Council http://www.yarraranges.vic.gov.au/Home mail@yarraranges.vic.gov.au
Yarriambiack Shire Council http://yarriambiack.vic.gov.au/ info@yarriambiack.vic.gov.au

Fast delivery available

Getting a container delivered is easy. We keep plenty of stock and with an extensive network of transport operators can offer same or next day delivery service across Victoria.

Call Us Now 9314 5589 or A/H 0417 261 544

If you’re moving interstate here’s a company that can help you. Click Here

Get a Fast Quote

TYPE OF ENQUIRY
General EnquirySalesModificationsRepairsStorage